Sustainable Innovations

SUSTAINABLE INNOVATIONS is the platform for exciting, emerging designers who create extraordinary material developments and rethink the textile world – with these insights you are always one step ahead of the market.

Scalable material innovations and future-proof processes are presented as show cases offering real solutions to problems with the most innovative textile developments. Curated by Simon Angel, the forum has been an integral part of KEYHOUSE since 2016.

Next Show

24/01 – 26/01/2023

Hall 5 | ZENITH AREA

References of exhibitors in this area are:

Mycotex | Beyond Surface Technologies | Frumat | Orange Fiber | Fruitleather | Fixing Fashion | Pauline van Dongen | Seaweed Design | i:co | Design for Circularity | Living Colour | Nat-2 | Shahar Livne Design

»The textile value chain is currently being radically rethought. Every company has to deal with these impulses and develop individual concepts. One thing is certain: in the future, too, only those companies will be successful whose fashion fascinates and who act in an economically sensible manner. Digital processes, decentralized production, smaller batches, shorter lead times, comprehensive transparency and new circular business models – it remains exciting to see which of these developments are scalable and when.«

Alexander Vogt, Kern. Consulting

BIOTIC BY STUDIO LIONNE VAN DEURSEN

Take yeast, bacteria and sweetened green tea – this mix becomes a biodegradable, resistant and highly flexible material after a fermentation process. How it works? Microbes spin nano fibres of bacterial cellulose onto a surface. Once this layer dries, it becomes a solid material with properties very similar to leather. Experiments with plant dyes and dyes from fruit waste have resulted in a fabric collection with bright colours, different light transmission and varied patterns.

+ Read more

Sustainable Innovations

SUSTAINABLE INNOVATIONS ist die Plattform für spannende Jungdesigner, die außergewöhnliche Materialentwicklungen kreieren und die Textilwelt neu denken – mit diesen Insights sind Sie dem Markt immer einen Schritt voraus. Hier werden Materialien und Prozesse von Morgen präsentiert, die skalierbar sind.

Diese zukunftsfähigen Show Cases bieten echte Problemlösungen und die innovativsten Textilentwicklungen. Von Simon Angel kuratiert ist das Forum seit 2016 fester Bestandteil des KEYHOUSE.

Next Show

30/08 – 01/09/2022

Halle 5 | ZENITH AREA

Einige Aussteller in diesem Bereich sind:

Mycotex | Beyond Surface Technologies | Frumat | Orange Fiber | Fruitleather | Fixing Fashion | Pauline van Dongen | Seaweed Design | i:co | Design for Circularity | Living Colour | Nat-2 | Shahar Livne Design

»Die textile Wertschöpfung wird momentan radikal neu gedacht. Es gilt für jedes Unternehmen, sich mit diesen Impulsen auseinander zu setzen und individuelle Konzepte zu entwickeln. Sicher ist: Auch in Zukunft werden nur die Unternehmen erfolgreich sein, deren Mode begeistert und die ökonomisch sinnvoll agieren. Digitale Prozesse, dezentralisierte Produktion, kleinere Chargen, kürzere Lead-Times, umfassende Transparenz und neue zirkuläre Geschäftsmodelle - es bleibt spannend, welche dieser Entwicklungen wann skalierbar sind.«

Alexander Vogt, KERN. Consulting

BIOTIC BY STUDIO LIONNE VAN DEURSEN

Man nehme Hefe, Bakterien und gesüßten grünen Tee – nach einem Fermentationsprozess wird daraus biologisch abbaubares, widerstandsfähiges und hochflexibles Material. Wie das funktioniert? Mikroben spinnen Nanofasern aus bakterieller Zellulose auf eine Oberfläche. Sobald diese Schicht getrocknet ist, wird sie zu einem festen Material, das sich in den Eigenschaften sehr ähnlich zu Leder verhält. In Experimenten mit Pflanzenfarben und Farbstoffen aus Fruchtabfällen ist eine Stoffkollektion mit bunten Farben, unterschiedlicher Lichtdurchlässigkeit und abwechslungsreichen Mustern entstanden.

+ Read more